TSHP History

TSHP History

The Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP) is a dynamic professional membership association which serves Texas health-system pharmacy professionals dedicated to the mission, vision, core values, philosophy, soul, spirit, and motto of TSHP.

The Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists began in 1949 with the first annual seminar for hospital pharmacists held at The University of Texas College of Pharmacy in Austin. Twenty five founding members came together to form what has become one of the leading health-system pharmacy societies in the country that fosters leadership and education in pharmacy.

The people who helped organize that first seminar included: UT College of Pharmacy Dean Henry M. Burlage, Dr. John Boenigk, of the UT College of Pharmacy, Lewis Smith of Baylor Hospital in Dallas (the first president of TSHP), Charlotte Coleman of John Sealy Hospital in Galveston, Cedric Jeffers of Scott and White Hospital in Temple, and Adela Schneider, the first secretary of TSHP who later served as president of TSHP and also received an award from ASHP for writing an early history of TSHP.

Regular communications to members transitioned from a printed newsletter to an electronic “E-news”, as well as a website that members can use to access pharmacy news, important society documents and obtain continuing education. The TSHP Journal debuted in 2000 to give members an opportunity to publish and read articles on topics relevant to pharmacy practice including original research, case studies, residency projects, therapeutic reviews, best practices, and medication safety topics. In the 1980s, to assist with advocacy efforts TSHP hired Brad Shields to help with lobbying efforts with Texas legislators to promote positive pharmacy practices that benefit the people of Texas. In 2003, the Society hired its first full-time, paid employee, Paul F. Davis as Executive Director.

What began as a small number of dedicated hospital pharmacists coming together to learn and discuss professional issues has grown to a dynamic health-system pharmacy organization that includes pharmacists, pharmacy residents, pharmacy students, retired pharmacists, educators, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy industry representatives, and others dedicated to the mission, vision, core values, philosophy, soul, spirit, and motto of TSHP.